Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Transistor Sword

This is my first time posting here and I'd probably say my first model I am kinda proud of. I decided to make the sword from Transistor, but I feel like something is missing and I wanna make it better to be used in my portfolio.

blOX8mS.jpg

Any help is appreciated!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Solid mesh. What maps do you have for the model, Christopher?
  • ChrisFagan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Diffuse and Specular. I played around with a glow map but it wasn't great (still learning).

FecBq02.jpg

ED7Pp56.jpg
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    So, assuming you;re using last-gen texturing technique workflow, a couple of critiques:

So the Transistor sword is aesthetically based on circuit boards. What this means is there will be particular material definitions you need to nail.

The gold bits need to read as gold, materially. Right now, your specular is just greyscale, and this is ABSOLUTELY WRONG if you're making a specular map for metal (this is slightly different for a PBR workflow, which I encourage you to get on top of ASAP).

You need to color the gold specular with a gold color, adjusting as necessary. You also need to have a gloss map made, which gets put INTO the alpha channel of the Specular map. The Gloss map determines the "glossiness" (as opposed to the SPeculars how INTENSE the specular reflection is) of the material. If you want the gold to be more beat up, less glossy. Less beat up, more glossy.

BUT COLOR YOUR SPECULAR (if it's a metal).

The teal bits, materially with how the concept art looks, you're most likely looking at something that looks similar to this

HTB13xmdFVXXXXaUXXXXq6xXFXXXq.jpg