Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New portfolio

Hey polycounters, I've been working on pieces for my portfolio and would love some feedback on it so far, I am trying to enter the industry and am unsure of where I stand quality wise vs industry standards. I'm still learning the process of texturing/lighting so I'm trying to emphasize my modeling skills vs my texturing skills on the site. I did just recently (an hour ago) finish the spear model, which was my first attempt at fully texturing a model. Let me know what you think.

http://rjgarcia3d.weebly.com/

Replies

• BagelHero
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    There's no need for a splash page that just says "enter", go straight to the gallery.

Put a finished game-rez model up top, so that spear. I think you put that car model up top because it's more complex, but if it's not game-rez with beauty renders and break downs it... kinda doesn't matter. It will just look WIP. I'm also seeing some tight edges on it that look like they won't bake down too well, but that's besides the point right now.

You should really learn to light and render well, or no matter how good your modelling skills are, you'll still look amateurish. Get out a nice hi-poly render for that car (even just Toolbag2 with some decent AO, Post FX and quality settings would be good), and move the spear to the top.

EDIT: Also, put a background on the spear that isn't plain black, and provide texture and wireframe breakdowns, as well as some more shots. Have a look at some high-level portfolios and try to match that userfriendliness and quality. Take some initiative and think about what would be really impressive to see for an employer who needs work done.
  • Youngy798
    Offline / Send Message
    Youngy798 polycounter lvl 4
    Remove the enter page and make it go straight to your work :)
  • Cexar
    Offline / Send Message
    Cexar polycounter lvl 6
    Opinion on website: