Home General Discussion

Is there a position for level designers that don't model?

I like putting together layouts/levels and scripting events. I've pretty much come to the conclusion that I'm just not very good at actually making the art. My degree is in art and technology, but I've always leaned toward the latter.

I just cannot find any (paying) work for that kind of position though.

Am I missing something or is the position just sort of merged together with being able to create great looking assets?

Replies

• WarrenM
    No, we have lots of level designers who don't model. Don't worry about it.
  • mister_s
    WarrenM wrote: »
    No, we have lots of level designers who don't model. Don't worry about it.

I recently took my portfolio down to revamp. Do you happen to have any suggestions? (I'm not begging you for a job with Epic. I just want to know what somewhere with a reputation is looking for. I'm in Texas, regardless, so it's a bit of a drive over there.) What would Epic look for, for example, in terms of someone who wants to level design? I'm just going to restart in UE4 since I haven't played with that yet. I just did UDK when I was in college.

Just the levels? Flythroughs? Gameplay? Rough layout sketches? Do I make it very obvious that I'm not using my own artwork? I worked on creating levels/scripting events on a smaller indie game for free for about a year when I graduated (but I had to stop as there was a promise of pay that only materialized excuses). Would that be something I put down even though I can't really show any of the work I did?

Don't get me wrong, though. I'm not ignorant. I know how to use the tools. I can model basic things, but nothing that is ship worthy; basically placeholder or relatively simple objects that don't need a keen artistic eye. I've wasted a lot of my personal time coming to the conclusion it's something I'm not going to ever excel in.
  • WarrenM