Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique my website/work?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Heather_Bea polycounter lvl 5
Hello! I am about to graduate. I'd love to get some advice on my website and possibly the work if it does not look up to par.

http://www.heatherbea.com/

Thank you!

Replies

• MattyWS
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MattyWS polycounter lvl 11
    I noticed you only show off the textures for two of those models, why not show off all of the textures for the others to at least show the UV's are done well? I love the mouse btw!
  • J_Ott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi!

I'm not an expert on portfolios (I'm a student myself) but I really like the design of your site. It looks very organized and functional to me. Also it's great that you talk about how long it took you to complete your 3D models, I imagine that's very interesting information for hiring companies.

I'd maybe consider renaming your 'Artwork' tab at the top of the site to something like 'Portfolio' because 'Artwork' sounds a lot like 2D art and concepts to me, which got me confused at some point.

Also, I'm not sure if this is relevant, but most 3D Artists usually put a wireframe view right next to their renders. I know that you can toggle on wireframe mode in sketchfab, but probably not everybody knows this and a wireframe image using quads shows your topology knowledge way better than the triangles that sketchfab displays.

One last minor thing: It's 'Environments', not 'Enviornments', just a little typo on the front page .(:

I hope you find this helpful and good luck!
  • Heather_Bea
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Matty- I'll get right on that! ^_^

J Ott- Thanks! I wasn't sure what to name it, Portfolio sounds a lot better. That is a good point, I'll get some wire frames on there.
    Eeek! Thanks, I'll fix that o.o'

Thank you very much for the input, guys!
  • tahakitan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message