Home General Discussion

How does a dev seeking to contract artist(s) explain what he needs?

*Not a recruiting thread*

I'm an indie game dev; a one-man show. I have only basic 3D modeling skills so I want the production art (3D and UI) to be done properly by someone who calls themselves an artist. I already posted in a number of forums that I am recruiting but from every single portfolio I looked so far, I am really not seeing what I need. I know that pay is not an issue. Budget is in the thousands, not nickels and dimes. I think it's most likely the fact that I really can't explain what I need.

I know what I want in my head, but it looks like I am having hard time writing it down. I definitely want to see concept art for all principal elements in the game, but I don't even know what constitutes concept art for 3D. Is it an illustration? Or a rough prototype done in 3D?

With that said, I am hoping that the audience here can give me some concrete pointers. What kind of questions to ask? What are some common game styles called? What would you say are the main, say 3, points I should state/questions that I should ask?

Replies

• Bedrock
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bedrock polycounter lvl 10
    Well, you could describe your game it will be easier to help that way. What platform are you going for? If it's PC, what's your target hardware? This will dictate whether you want something simple like very low poly assets and hand painted textures with flat lighting, or something more complicated with specular, normal or even PBR stuff with fancy shaders.