Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] UE4 Environment Crits needed

So I'm a junior artist at Dreamgate studios in Canberra, Australia, and I realized I'll soon face the prospect of having to find a new job without anything major in the area i'd like to work (most of my work stuff has been 2D mobile stuff) to put in my portfolio, so I'll be posting any and all of the stuff I make on here.

I'd very much appreciate any critiques or recommendations anyone would like to give :)

wwvaekD.png

t3LFOJz.png

TRzXWwd.png

AZMfaln.png

Replies

• BagelHero
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    Put "Crits plz" or equivalent in the title man, more people will drop in.

Looking good so far, those trees and rocks are turning out great. :) Keep it up!
  • Meloncov
    Offline / Send Message
    Meloncov greentooth
    Your foliage will look better/less plasticky if you use the Subsurface shading model (you can hook the came color into subsurface as base).
  • AbKI
    Offline / Send Message
    AbKI polycounter lvl 6
    Awesome rocks. :)

I think the best thing you can do is look at some ref, foliage is pretty tricky to get right. On the trees it looks like the leaves are coming out of the trunk, but you're missing the smaller branches.

With foliage you have to think of the negative space as well as where the leaves are, at the moment your grass and leaves look pretty clumped together. Great start though! :)
  • nuclearjelly
    Thanks so much for the crits guys! :D

@AbKI Hey thanks! Those rocks took a while, and a few iterations. Hoping to cover them with a bit of moss with vertex colour blending a bit later. I'm yet to do a proper texture pass on the trees (it's very placeholder) but i'm coming around to thinking I should defs do another pass on the placement of those leaves and grass, hoping to get the placement sorted on the weekend after I have some other types of vegetation and ground textures :/ Reference Ho!