Home General Discussion

Taking A Break from Art ?

TAN
polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
TAN polycounter lvl 12
I just wanted to ask if you really feel sometimes want to take a break from doing what you are doing everyday. It could be 2D, 3D, music, design, performing etc. Especially towards the end of the year.

So ?

Replies

• SuperFranky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SuperFranky polycounter lvl 10
    Man, when I finish the project I'm working on right now I'm gonna take a long ass break. At least 2 weeks to catch up on games, tv or whatever and prepare for the next project.
  • RexM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Play games often and you won't feel like you need to take a break, it helps so much.

If you are sacrificing free time to do more art and aren't playing many games, I would suggest to find a balance between the two.
  • Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    As a contractor, I'm forced to take breaks anyways, heh. Microsoft's policy used to be 1yr contract, 100 days off (mandatory). Now it's 18 month contract, 6 months off (mandatory) :\
  • Blaisoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blaisoid polycounter lvl 7
    No.
    Breaks are overrated, and robots shouldn't be thinking about this kind of strange things. Only faulty robots need to take breaks.
    Your thought module seems to be malfunctioning, I will inform the authorities so that they can replace it with a new one.
  • omneom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    omneom polycounter lvl 6
    I took a break from 3d, for about 1-2 years, couse I got really sick of it, don't exactly know why. Took up painting, both digital and traditional. Took 3d up back and my 2d art skills really improved my work, so I guess breaks are good, just don't make them too long.
  • Francois_K
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Francois_K interpolator
    Blaisoid wrote: »
    No.