Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Turtle Animation

Tictora
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Tictora polycounter lvl 9
Hi there,

I am currently in my final year at Staffordshire University studying Computer Games Design. This year one of my modules is to complete a project on whatever I want to do i.e. create a character model, an environment for a game, an animation etc. I have chosen to create an animation telling the story of a brave little turtle making his way across an overgrown garden, battling the elements to get to the love of his life. I have created this thread so that I can show you all what I am doing and if you have any advice or want to comment on what I am doing then that would be greatly appreciated.

The Story
The story is of a male turtle living in one garden who decides to make the epic journey to see his love in another garden. However, an overgrown and abandoned garden separates the two and he must battle his way through it to get to her. He must also brave the elements i.e. wind, rain etc. to get there. I’m not sure at the moment how long this will take him, obviously I want to exaggerate the pace that a turtle walks but I’m not sure how far I should take it. For example should it be a few days and show the change between day and night or should I go further and show the changing of seasons?

Below is a diagram of where the male turtle is and the female turtle is:
TurtleJourney_zps8642a673.jpg

The Characters
I have been looking at a few different models for this animation and have found the perfect model for the turtle, which would need altering for me to be able use it, for example I want my turtle to walk on four legs instead of two. This model is actually scarily similar to how I wanted my turtle to look when I first thought of this animation.
Sheldon1_zps011375c6.jpg
Sheldon3_zps10bcfc30.jpg