Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environmental Artist digging into Character work

SwdPwnzDggr
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
SwdPwnzDggr polycounter lvl 7
Hey guys, I have been a freelance environmental artist for quite a while now and recently started at a university so that I can get my Bachelors while finishing up my reel. In the past few weeks I finally got a chance to work on character modeling. Before this I had only ever followed some quick series or mimicked other models to keep my organic modeling skills fresh.

I went online and found a great concept by Alexei Samokhin (mexart.ru/index.html). Created some quick orthos out of it and went to town.

RLLodYO.jpg

UFnfhi8.jpg

2bs1ncs.jpg

ZgoV5bs.jpg

Quick Turntable: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wnmBXbTu8ns

Please post any crits or comments, I would love to improve from this. Like I said, I normally focus on Environmental work but I would love to see where I can go with characters as well.

Replies

• Shurkuris
    Offline / Send Message
    Shurkuris polycounter lvl 3
    His right/left hands could probably use more edge loops if someone ever wanted to animate him.

Nice to see individual hair strands on him, not just 100% texture din.
  • ZippZopp
    Offline / Send Message
    ZippZopp polycounter lvl 12
    i think it is a good start, and you're on the right track. I think the face needs a bit more attention to detail with regards to anatomy.

i think there needs to be more of an indication of eye anatomy, he needs more of a top lid shape. they feel very thin. i think the bottom lip feels very much like a tube stuck on there and needs some better transition into the face.

The hands need some work as well. the concept has some very nice hard angles, especially in the hands. yours feel quite soft and rubbery. I'd also suggest adding more geometry. of course it depends on the purpose of the model, but it is easy to pick out the low poly geometry.
  • SwdPwnzDggr
    Offline / Send Message