Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hand painted environment

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
MattyWS polycounter lvl 11
Hello everyone! I usually lurk here and make the odd post but thought I'd show some WIP textures. My ultimate here is to make a nice Dota (kind of) environment so I started off with some attempts at hand painted textures. I did use 3D to help me with the stone floor though. Critique is more than welcome! I'm a complete noob in 2D. :)

Replies

• MattyWS
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So I haven't touched on this in a while as I was hoping for some feedback but I guess I just didn't really show enough in context, so I made a fast test scene (the tree doesn't match, it's quite old actually so I need to replace it).

Tell me what you guys think! I'd much like to hear some feedback on how to improve because I'm still new to hand painted styles. =)

HandPaintedEnvironmentTest.png
  • Tobbo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
    This is looking cool.

I would work some more on the darker parts of the grass. There's no grass blades, dirt, or anything in those areas. It's just a dark blob. Maybe try and fill it in a little bit more? I understand that you don't want to make it too noisy though, but I think a little more indication of grass blades or something would definitely help.
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    It's looking pretty good so far, I look forward to seeing more.
  • Deathstick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Deathstick polycounter lvl 7
    nothing wrong with using 3D to help you with hand-painted environment textures, I think that's what Blizzard has been doing these days anyways.

Looking good!
  • Dragonar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dragonar polycounter lvl 10
    I like it !! Maybe the floor is a little repetitive especially hollow but with some grass it will be nice !
  • Mr Significant