Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need some feedback on a character

Jarjarniks
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Jarjarniks polycounter lvl 7
Hey all! I am a struggling 3d student, on my second year of studying 3d for game art, and I find myself in need of some technical feedback/advice.

About a month ago I started work on what would be my second game character ever, and I have now gotten to the texturing process, and am starting be unsure of what exactly I am doing. Texturing is what I am worst at, and I could really use some help.

So the problem I am having is this:

I want to showcase this character in marmoset toolbag, and am currently texturing it in DDO. My character is split up into 4 different maps:

1 for her head, hair, mouthbag, teeth, tongue, eyes and eyelashes.

2 is for her body, arms and legs.

3 is for her armor

4 is for her weapons and accessories.

All of which are 2k in size.

Now heres where I am unsure of what to do.

What are the current standards of texture sizes for a main character in a video game nowadays? Say the ingame action was 3rd person over the shoulder view, like in the Batman or Witcher games, with ingame cutscenes of character closeups, how many different maps would you make for a main character? does the 4 different ones I have sound reasonable? Is 2k resolution completely insane if there is Diffuse, Spec, Gloss and Normal for each map, (of which there are 4) for current platforms as the 360, ps3, ps4 and One consoles as well as pc?

The second question I have is this:

For her hair, I want to use transparency, but is this a bad idea to do if the hair planes are located on her head map? Will I see any issues with the head etc. becoming transparent too? Should I have the hair on a seperate map from the head?

Heres a picture of the head map so you can see:

http://www.polycount.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=20077&stc=1&d=1412598196

The hair planes are at the bottom of the map.