Home› 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

I need help, how I can improve my portfolio?

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
KyleReeceHall polycounter lvl 11
Hi guys

I really just need some help knowing what do add to my portfolio, whats good and bad about it and generally how can I improve it?
I've been looking for work in the UK games/3d industry for about a year now and haven't been successful yet. I've been doing 3D art for about 6 years and cant seem to progress to getting work.
My focus is characters but I want to be able to go into prop and or environment work as well.

Any help and feedback would be greatly appreciated.

http://kylehallart.weebly.com/

Thanks
Kyle

Replies

• jhoythottle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jhoythottle polycounter lvl 7
    Take down those lego models for 2 reasons: First, they're not that impressive to begin with. There's nothing overly original about them. We've all seen Lego characters before. Second, I see it's an art test. Most employers aren't thrilled to have their art tests advertised on portfolio sites. Always have quality over quantity. If there's a piece you aren't a huge fan of compared to others, take it down.
  • KyleReeceHall
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks allot, I was wondering if I should do that as I dont like them myself, I just thought it would show I can do other styles of character, but yeah Im gonna take them down, cheers man.
  • tierzilla
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tierzilla polycounter lvl 9
    as i see you have the same problem i have , not enough game-ready meshes/ textures.
    I would change the white background too.
    hope it helps you , gonna make a thread for my portfolio critic =9
  • KyleReeceHall
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah I get that some of them are and some of them arnt, I just dont know what to make :(