Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Website/Portfolio Review

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
MasterJV polycounter lvl 3
Hello all,

I finished my portfolio back in April and have been trying to find work since, but have had no luck so far.

It would be really great and appreciated if someone could give me feedback on my website/portfolio. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Maybe I need to improve more before going into Freelancing?

I'm still new to all of this and have never been the type of person to accept criticism so well, but I know you have to have a tough skin when it comes to these sort of things.

Here's the link to my portfolio: www.julianvermeulen3d.com

Again, any feedback/criticism on the website/portfolio is welcome.

Thank you,

Julian

Replies

• Higuy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Higuy polycounter lvl 9
    I'm not a big guy on criticism either man, but here is my first few thoughts when I looked at your portfolio:

1. More complete environments as opposed to just props. You should make environments, even if they are small, to put these props in. For example the mech, I could see that asset sitting in a nice environment built around it, such as a hangar or some kind of sci-fi room.

2. Perhaps try putting some of these props and environments in a game engine like Unreal or Unity. I noticed that the Smurf enviroment for example was rendered in Vray. While you may not be going for the level designer position or similar, you should show that you know how to build those environments in a game development package, using materials and the other real time features they come with.

3. Simply keep making stuff. You have 5 smallish, nicely refined props and 1 nicely built environment, but all of them feel a bit general. You have the skills for sure, you just need to go and apply them to make something that is really cool and will wow people when they look at it.

Hope that helps a bit.

Cheers
    Lucas
  • PyrZern
    Options