Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Review

Hey ya'll!~
I've been ghosting this site for a while now but friends have been urging me to post/ get feedback so here we go. I concentrated mostly on art for mobile games while in school but I want to branch out of that.

I'm an associate level 3D artist and illustrator looking to improve my work/presentation/portfolio.

Any help/comments/critiques would be greatly appreciated.

My portfolio site:

www.jenmelnick.com

Thanks all!:)

-J

Replies

• Suba
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Suba polycounter lvl 5
    It doesn't load or is it just me? Website seems off.
  • BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    EDIT: Site loads fine for me.

First off, good job so far! Your art is colorful and pretty well designed, attracts attention very well.

But I think you need to figure out what you really want to do, rather than showing off... everything. I can't tell quite what you're showing off specifically and you have no title (Character Artist? Environment Artist? Even 3D generalist would do, but there's illustration here too...), which effects how I'm viewing this. I, personally, have assumed that you want to and like to do Characters, because that's on the first page. Both designing them, and the actual modelling and texturing.

Still, though, it leaves me feeling a little confused, and you could really stand to make a harder goal-- If you no longer wish to work on casual mobile games, show the kind of art that would go into a game you actually wish to work on. So figure out exactly what that is, and show it up front. :)

Just some other niggly bits I noticed;
    • Only your phone number at the top of the page? Possibly not a great idea; add your email up there as well... In a way that's more obvious than the button.