Home General Discussion

Aesthetics

Hey guys,

I was just wondering the other day, what is aesthetics. Received a critics on my portfolio, saying and I quote "lacking aesthetics".

Confusion, what is aesthetics and are there some rules?

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Visual aesthetics is normally the overall look of a game or scene. What I think they meant by that criticism is that technically, your skills in modeling, texturing, and creating an asset are good enough, but when it comes to putting it together in a level, having good art direction, composition, color theory, etc, your portfolio is lacking.
  • notman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    notman polycounter lvl 18
    According to google, it means it lacked 'beauty'. Maybe someone can take a look at your portfolio, and see if they agree with the critics? Your pieces look good to me, but then again, I'm a developer ;)
  • Jakob Gavelli
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jakob Gavelli interpolator
    I'd say this video pretty much sums it up. It probably depends on who you ask though.

[ame]www.youtube.com/watch?v=5oK8UTRgvJU[/ame]
  • moose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    moose polycount sponsor
    I think the appropriate response to that type of critique would be to ask the person to elaborate. If you don't understand what they mean, say plainly that you would like to improve, but aren't sure what you mean, and ask if they could explain further or give specific examples.
  • Zocky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zocky greentooth
    Well, from what i understand, with "graphics", it's meant to be more technical side to your art. Like, it's well optimized, it has a lot of details, sculpting is nice and polished. Water looks very realistic and detailed and such.