Home General Discussion

Low/Mid End Laptop Comparison

Hey everyone and thank you for taking your time to read this. :)
(Also, sorry for the upcoming text wall)

I'm relatively new to the world of CG and am still trying to get my feet wet in a as many directions as I can.
Currently, my primary focus lies on Game Development and 3D Modeling, for which I would like to purchase a solid "low-to-mid-end" laptop that will keep me covered for the next few years.
Being a student starting out, I have a rather limited budget, which is why I would like to stay clear of anything over 1.000 Euro.

Here is some quick information:
1.) Main applications: PS, ZBrush, Maya, Modo, Mari, UnrealEngine
2.) Budget: approximately 800 Euro
3.) Location: Germany
4.) Specific requirements: Stable work environment for a wide variety of 3D Packages

To elaborate, Mari and the UnrealEngine aren't actually part of my current workflow due to my highly out-dated computer, but I would definitely love to explore them in the future. This is why, according to their corresponding website's system recommendations, I need to limit my search to quad core processors.
In addition, I've read to avoid AMD Graphics Cards because of their lack of OpenGL support and the consequential issues with Modo.

With all that in mind, I made my own research and set up the following spreadsheet to help me make my decision:
LapComp.png~original

Favourites:
1.) Lenovo IdeaPad G700 - Spending an extra ~140 Euro, I could upgrade the RAM to 16GB and still come out with only 740 Euro spent for a decent overall package.
2.) Lenovo IdeaPad Z710 - Seems really solid for the price. An upgrade to 16GB is worth a thought, although it will raise the price to roughly 940 Euro.
3.) MSI Leopard Pro GP60 - Small powerhouse that can be upgraded to 16GB of RAM a lot cheaper since it requires only one more 8GB module, leading to a price of ~910 Euro. Downside is the smaller screen.