Home General Discussion

What do suggest to this young artist?

aranis
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
aranis polycounter lvl 8
Hi, i'm 17 and i'm a young artist.I'm interested with create to game environments and i want to create a new portfolio with levels so looks like architectural to grab new works what do u suggest to me what i'm do?
My Skills;
Environment modeling,texturing,baking low to high

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    Learn physically based rendering. It's going to be the future of next gen video games.

Create environments that show you know PBR. Something like a raining city intersection is a good example. Or create a very detailed car with PBR metals, steering wheels, chairs etc.
  • Add3r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Add3r polycounter lvl 11
    Personally do not see age making a large difference in ability to be a skillful artist. I personally was in the industry at 17 (turning 21 in a few days), just takes dedication. My suggestion is to put your head down and find a specialty. Sounds like you enjoy environments, so start reading and watching tutorials and scouring through Polycount. Nothing stopping you from potentially working for a AAA studio or doing freelance right this moment. In my past experience, age/education played zero factor in me getting or not getting jobs, its was work I could produce. I worked my way up to the position I am in now, nearly self taught. It absolutely is possible.

Though if you want to have a more solid footing and want to get a degree... I say go with either fine arts or programming. Both are very desirable skills for 3D artists/industry in general. Fine arts will teach you the ways of composition, color theory, etc. Programming will allow you to get into tech art (the route I went), program your own games for independent development, and even works as a backup job opportunity if you want to leave games.