Home Technical Talk

Looks Strange In Maya

convolution223
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
convolution223 polycounter lvl 6
This is my first time dealing with normals and generally, this is my first realistic-looking model. I sculpted in Zbrush, retopo'd, and got normals in xNormal. I bring the low-poly into Maya and apply the texture from the polypaint that xNormal made and it looks like this:

photo.jpg

Notice there's a lot of odd blackness. I applied a normal map too but I can't get it to show. I set it as a bump map. I downloaded a trial of Marmoset and in that I reversed the Y-direction of the normals and it worked! [I was told to reverse the Y-direction in xNormal for Unreal] Now how do I get it to work in Maya? And please be very descriptive, Maya is still alien to me. Do I need to re-bake the normals without reversing the Y-direction? it seems like that could be a problem if I'm trying to make the normals look as good as possible across the board.

Replies

• peanut™
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    peanut™ polycounter lvl 19
    "Now how do I get it to work in Maya? And please be very descriptive, Maya is still alien to me."

That's exactly that do the search for me guys. Im surprised at the vast quantity of people storming this forum and ask help and never spend more than 12 sec and learn the app.

And the answer to your question is:

Make sure all vertices are merged
    Normals Menu: Set to Face
    Normals Conform: (normals will be in the same direction)
    Normals Soften Edge (smooth all the normals because it looks like soft surface).
    Delete history
  • SaboR1996
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SaboR1996 polycounter lvl 8
    Have you set the bump map as a tangent space normal?
  • convolution223
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    peanut™ wrote: »
    "Now how do I get it to work in Maya? And please be very descriptive, Maya is still alien to me."