Home General Discussion

Please explain to me the difference between Textools and polyunwrapper

boumay
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
boumay polycounter lvl 6
Hello,
I don't want an app war at all, but I'm a newbie at unwrapping and I really want to understand the benefit of polyunwrapper before buying it, since it's 35 dollars, so it's not cheap.
And people seem to love textools and that it brings useful features, that it and polyunwrapper seem to have in common.
What "THE" feature(s) polyunwrapper has over textools to be worth buying it?

Again, I hope I won't upset anybody, I just want to understand and get the more efficient and fatest tools for uv work.
Thank you.

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Considering that these two add-ons require Max, you could very well use yet another solution : using the regular Max tools (enhanced with a free addon like Textools, or the Chuggnut Unwraptools, which I personally use) along with the free standalone Roadkill, which offers a fantastic workflow speed and great results. You will still need to work a bit within Max in order to scale/rotate/arrange UV chunks tho, but that's always a necessary step anyways.
  • boumay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    boumay polycounter lvl 6
    I found roadkill painful with edge selection, and, afaik, it's for organic shapes mainly, isn't it?
    I also thought it was outdated now.
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Well, I don't know if it is outdated, but I personally sure use it for every project and for any kind of model - be it organic or mechanical. But then again, everybody has their own workflow ... I simply settled for it because it perfectly fits my needs. My favorite toolset is actually Maya/MayaLT + Roadkill, since Maya has an awesome soft selection brush for UVs that I never found a match for in any other program.