Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UT99 HD Weapons

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Rooster128 polycounter lvl 8
So this is an update on this project I have been working on for a couple of years off and on. So many people have told me it's not worth it, that I shouldn't bother, but I think I have something here. Just not sure what to do with it now, since development of UT4 seems to be moving quite slowly and I am not sure if I can implement these as a mod or a standalone game or just use the marketplace. Between that and the criticisms of the project, I've become pretty jaded. But hey, let's see what polycount thinks... haha.

The idea was to bring the classic UT99 weapons through a modern-day PBR workflow, and then rig/animated/code them into the game. Possibly with mastered soundbytes and better FX.

I've always liked the simpler designs of the UT99 weapons. I am aware other people have tried remakes of these weapons, but I wanted to try bringing them through a PBR pipeline. Eventually, I hope to get all of them fully rigged, animated, and playable in UE4- I have the skills to do it.

I do take creative liberty when I need to, in order to sell more detail. But so far, I haven't gone overboard with the detailing. I honestly think most weapon designs have far too much greeble these days- I want to be able to tell I'm looking at a gun. I think the funnest part about remaking these weapons is figuring out how they ought to function and building around what I come up with.

Replies

• Rooster128
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    More...

Ripper2.jpg
    The Ripper is interesting because the blade that it fires is nowhere near the size that it should be if it were to fit in the cylindrical magazine below the gun.
    RipperDisc1.jpg
    RipperDisc2.jpg

I experimented making the disc fold up in order for it to fit in the magazine, somewhat like a folding shuriken. That didn't end up working so well.

RipperDisc3.jpg

RipperDisc4.jpg