Home Technical Talk

[3Ds Max] Animation layer - use bone !! I need help

Hi , I am new to 3Ds Max , I have one Robot model , I use bone to create animation on him , and also use animation layer to create different animations like Idle and Running.

But something wrong when I rotate bone in Running animation layer . So I need your help , thank you so much .

Here is some image about my work :(

Here is my model with Base layer and Idle animation layer

71rq4.jpg

I turn off the Idle animation layer

enax.jpg

And create a new animation layer named Running

7wus2.jpg

Then I choose bone to create running animation by rotate it

29tg1.jpg

But something went wrong when the leg does not rotate in correct direction

lvfqr.jpg

But when I delete the Idle animation layer , everything was fine .

pikeh.jpg

I think something in Idle animation layer still linked to Running layer , I don't know how :poly122: , please help me . My purpose is not to delete Idle animation layer while creating Running animation layer, thank you for your help. I am a newbie to 3Ds Max :(

Replies

• monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    I can't reproduce your problem. I typically create one animation per max file, and use animation layers for adjustments.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    A few things only exist on the layers they are created, like constraints and controllers. Which causes a lot of problems for people if they make changes after they've made layers.

So for example if you're on the run layer and you make changes to the rig, those changes won't effect the other layers. You can also assign various constraints and controllers to the same object but on different layers, which causes all kinds of havoc if you ever collapse. In order to use animation layers you need to always go back to the base layer and make your changes, or destroy all of the layers, make your changes and apply them from scratch after it's been fixed.