Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

A Beginner's Model: Critique Wanted [WIP]

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Recursive Sweatpants polycounter lvl 4
Hello! I'm fairly new to modeling, and not even close to good at it compared to most of the stuff here--I'm afraid that what I have so far will is too primitive to even be considered a work in progress based on the friggen amazing WIPs I've seen--but I'd like to improve to the point that I can at least make decent placeholder models for a video game, at least.

Over the summer, I want to try to create a game-ready model from scratch. I don't know if this is a reasonable time frame to do something like that, but that's one of the reasons I'm here.

Below is the mesh I've slowly been working on over the past couple of months. I took a class on modeling a while before this, but I didn't learn very much other than the basics of Maya and good topology. I've learned a lot more since then by working on this, and I'd appreciate it if I could get feedback on the proportions, topology, etc.

[SKETCHFAB]9dbbe909276c4d0ea8824c558f474eda[/SKETCHFAB]

Aside from keeping everything quads and making sure the edgeflow is good, are there any tips a sorta-beginner modeler should know? Anything I should improve on this model before adding hands and feet?

Replies

• Sean VanGorder
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey man, always great to see beginners having the courage to show their work. I'm not a character artist, so I'll leave specific critique up to those who know what they're talking about, but I can predict that they will mention the importance of anatomy. Even for monsters and creatures you'll need a solid understanding of real world anatomy in order to make them believable. For instance, the facial structure on your model isn't very convincing. Try studying the anatomy of a similar real world creature and mimic the underlying bone structure.