Home General Discussion

What software should I use for texturing?

Hello, I'm new with the whole textureing thing, so I'm now picking a software to learn.

Should I start learning learn 3D Coat and use it with xNormal, HandPlane and Photoshop?

Or should I be looking to work with these: http://dev.quixel.se/ + (xNormal and Handplane together) + Photoshop?

Or any other combination?

Thanks for answering and have a great weekend :D

Replies

• Torch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch interpolator
    MS Paint ftw!

3D Coat is pretty good, seems to be what a lot of people are using right now, if you're rolling in money you could also try Mari :D
  • Shtreimel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch wrote: »
    MS Paint ftw!

3D Coat is pretty good, seems to be what a lot of people are using right now, if you're rolling in money you could also try Mari :D

Can I find everything that I could do with 3DCoat that is useful for making items for dota in all of those applications? -> http://dev.quixel.se/
  • Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    If you're completely new you should probably just learn Photoshop by itself. every artist should be a pro with that.

Also 3Dcoat does 3D painting. The quixel stuff is an extension for photoshop that doesn't do 3D-painting, only 2D.
  • Shtreimel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yea I know.. what do you mean by wrtiing "Photoshop by itself"?

You mean like, I should first learn to texture with only Photoshop?

And any other suggestions/tips/anything that could help guys?
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    http://wiki.polycount.com/CategoryConceptFundamentals
    Photoshop. Learn how to paint first. The foundation of all texturing skills.
  • JedTheKrampus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JedTheKrampus polycounter lvl 8
    I like Krita for texturing. (Full disclosure: I'm working for them right now.)