Home Technical Talk

Baked Normal map has a seam I don't know how to fix

So the story is that I've been working on this character in Zbrush. I decided I would call it done, so I exported the High poly, set it up with the low poly in 3DS Max 2010, and I fixed all of the problems that showed up when rendering the normal map. I loaded it up in Crazybump to see how the low poly looked with the normal map, and I was happy with the result until I noticed some pretty obvious seams going directly along the UV seams.

I've tried expanding the padding and messing with some hard/soft edges, but I can't figure out how to get rid of the seam. I tried googling it, but there's a thousand different problems that create seams so I didn't find an answer there either.

I'm totally new to Polycount and forums in general, so I'm not sure of the best way to attach an image, I'm going to see if this works... It should be an image of the most obvious UV seam, as seen in Crazybump.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    why are you viewing it in crazybump and not on 3ds max ?
  • Ootman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I don't have the 3pointshader, so I'd have to do renders in max to see how the normal is working. Besides that, default lighting in max is pretty awful. In Crazy bump I can move the camera around the model and see it from any angle quickly and easily.

I did also try doing a couple renders in max though, hoping that maybe the seams were only in Crazybump, but that unfortunately wasn't the case.
  • ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    What is your target game engine or viewer? Crazybump isn't a good way to present models.
  • Ootman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message