Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Band of Brothers, explorative portfolio piece - wip

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
millyparkes polycounter lvl 7
Hey Polycount :) This is a new piece I'm working on at the moment, inspired by Band of Brothers. Feel free to just look at the pictures (and post comments)

Project intentions; I know there are a lot of military characters in a lot of portfolios and it's not particularly original or inspired to do a military bust. However, I really enjoyed the series and this project aims to work on my current weakness and explore things I'm still learning about.

It's been about a year since I left uni and in that time I've had limited access to a desk and even less access to the internet, so there's a gaping hole in my portfolio and in my knowledge of recent developments. (In the past year I have done some pieces just for fun and massively improved my knowledge of anatomy - so it wasn't a complete waste of time.)

Based on looking at my previous work and the weak areas, this project aims to look at rendering realistic materials (leather that looks like leather), give me more experience sculpting faces and improve my understanding of BPR and SSS.

I also want to use this to look into tessellation and the creation of complex or detailed assets.

The character I'm working on is one of the protagonists, Lt. Richard D. Winters, as there's obviously loads of good quality ref of Damian Lewis.

It's still early days but here's a preview of the sculpt in progress.

1_br_by_millyparkes-d7htrjg.jpg

Replies

• Ahoburg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message