Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique my Low-poly assets!

Hey guys! I am a fairly novice 3D artist looking for his way into the industry. My 3D work is something I'm constantly working to improve.

Could you take a moment to give me a few tips on this kind of art style?

Thanks guys!

imperial_shield_of_war_by_greypwalker-d7hnzxe.png

fantasy_dwelling_by_greypwalker-d7hb7ki.png

iron_two_handed_sword_by_greypwalker-d6ryfrt.png

iron_mage_staff_by_greypwalker-d6ruh2q.png

simple_fantasy_bow_by_greypwalker-d6qviyq.png

Replies

• Karmageddon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Karmageddon polycounter lvl 7
    Are all these assets yours? The first four are pretty great style. The fourth one with the staff though the wood grain texture looks a bit stretched or streaky (there's some woodgrain UV stretching on the blade as well). There's a lot of wasted UV space going on and the metal stuff is larger in scale relative to the wood.

The last weapon is like night and day, it looks unfinished compared to the others.

Really dig the first four though, they're very charming.
  • GreypWalker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes, these assets are totally mine. Thank you for the comments, they are appreciated. (:

my Portfolio can be viewed here: http://greypwalker.deviantart.com/
  • Fenyce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fenyce polycounter lvl 11
    Maybe you should think of better presentation sheets, especially when it comes to placement of your informations. Unify them a little atm every sheet looks diffrent and they don't fit each other very well.

As for citique... The roof of the house could use some extra geometry, for the shingles along side the edge. Just like you already did on the top of the roof, so the whole roof would look a little more 3D and not just like a painted plane. That would be my suggestion.
  • GreypWalker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message