Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Lighting Project Feedback

Hello and Greetings Polycount members

I am new to the polycount forums and heard it was a good place if I wanted critique and possible tips and directions on my work.
I am currently taking a class in lighting and rendering for video games and really wanted to get some feedback on some drafts I am doing, I always believe another eye helps.

I have two drafts on lighting I am doing for this scene as well as a reference picture on the kind of lighting I was going for such as a dawn time of day in somewhere like Thailand.

Any critique, feedback, comments are welcome and Thank you again.

Replies

• Monophobe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Monophobe polycounter lvl 11
    Hey, welcome to polycount (might want to ask a mod to remove your duplicate thread)

I prefer the slightly warmer fogging on the second version. I'd say you could have more contrast going on; the dome in particular is casting a strong shadow and yet is very flat on the shadowed side facing the camera.

Not sure if you can edit the scene as you specified lighting, but those plant materials need looking at, especially the green/red ones that I guess have some self illumination on as they just don't sit well in the world.

The scene as a whole just looks grey with an orange light source so if you can't make edits to improve the surfaces then some point lighting could certainly add more interest - candles inside the monument perhaps, some wall lights, uplighters?

If you're just working towards a still render then I'd experiment with moving the sun around and try to find some more interesting shadows. Look at the shapes in the scene such as the bird statues; can you find a way to draw the eye to them more?
  • Daedalus51
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daedalus51 polycounter lvl 5
    Hey man,