Home General Discussion

Sculpting likeness

Hi guys! Beginner here. I was wondering if I could get some tips on sculpting likenesses. I attempt to sculpt busts from photo references but I have difficulty on getting them to look like the person I'm sculpting. It'd really help if you guys can point me in the right direction. Thanks! :)

Replies

• Mask_Salesman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mask_Salesman polycounter lvl 13
    Well generally you would need to show us the sculpt for people to give feedback on it :thumbup:

But also understanding the underlining anatomy helps a great deal over just photoref, it helps fill in the gaps.
  • Shiniku
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shiniku polycounter lvl 9
    It's something that takes a lot of work and practice honestly. I have no specific tips, but I can try to point you in the right direction for what to research.

Learn facial anatomy and the proportions of the face, I personally think you should be able to draw an anatomically correct skull and the surface muscles from memory. That said, ALWAYS use reference.

Do lots of speed sculpts (or sketches) of famous people's faces or whoever. Try to get lots of feedback. If you make a famous actor from a popular TV show or something, a lot people will likely be able to quickly tell you what's wrong with it or if you're capturing the likeness.

Study caricature. Really, do some research, get books. Caricature artists have many great techniques for how to get a likeness across very quickly, and even if you're doing realistic style portraits this info can be helpful, especially in knowing what to look for.