Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

What to do. What not to do.

polygon
Offline / Send Message
Hoopla! polygon
Ahoy, Polypeople!

I am starting this thread as a means to move forward. I have been a hobbyist for 4-5 years now and well, its do or do not do time for me. I have worked as a professional artist for the last three years in other industries but recently parted ways with my employer and have have now found myself with time and energy to invest in something I LOVE! developing and honing my 3d skills.

I've fallowed this forum for awhile now and i am constantly amazed and inspired by what i see here.

Im asking for help from all of you wonderful people. I love creating art but i seem to get in over my head with 3d, im pretty shy about it and so i figured that was a good sign i should be exposing as many of the mistakes i try to hide as possible. (hope that make at least some sense to someone :poly142:)

my goal is to work on a single project every day that i can and post the progress here. so here goes!

Replies

• DWalker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd start simply - the ubiquitous crates & barrels. They are straight-forward to model, easy to texture map, a can provide a solid base for a wide range of materials, everything from wood & metal to plastic & cardboard.

Don't set an unreasonable schedule. Experienced artists could create a quality model in a day, but that's with years of experience and knowledge of their tools. Until you have enough experience to know how long things take, set your sights on working a fixed number of hours per day, and try to stay away from distractions (TV, web, phone) during your "work" hours.

Plan what you are doing before you start. This might seem an unnecessary step for your first, simple projects, but it will become increasingly important as you progress.
  • Stirls
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stirls polycounter lvl 8