Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Senior Student Portfolio Critique

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Chiffy polycounter lvl 7
Hi guys, I'm currently a senior in university graduating this fall and studying Computer Game Design, and I'm an aspiring Character Artist. My portfolio is still under development in terms of content, and I plan on having a couple more pieces in there by the time I graduate. How is the current work that's in there though? I just want to get an idea as to where I stand and how people like my work. I'm really fond of the hand painted, diffuse style, which I am still learning, but 1 or 2 of my next characters will most likely be more realistic to widen my options. I'm learning ZBrush right now so I can start getting some nice high poly character models done, so I realize that's one thing I'm lacking.

I'm open to any suggestions, ideas, or comments on any part of the site and the work, including my resume, site layout, work, etc. :)

Portfolio: www.ericchiffolo.com

Replies

• Vertrucio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vertrucio greentooth
    I think you need to challenge yourself to do a realistic character. Even if you don't plan to focus on that style, you need to be challenged to do things with more interesting forms.

That, or take a very strong concept from another artist, and recreate it in 3D.

Right now the stuff you have on there is, well, student grade at best. You won't find a job with it, and all of it should be replaced. The good news is that you are technically skilled enough to replace all of it in good order, with some time and effort.