Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

stylised mountain village

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
jimimcgowan polycounter lvl 8
hey everyone! im a student currently working on my final uni project. im in the process of making a stylised village in a mountain area which is going to be made of a farm and air dock area as well as a large waterfall and mountain vista.

[ame]www.youtube.com/watch?v=1h6fMf16-Q8[/ame]

heres the progress i have made so far:

week_4_07.jpg

week_4_06.jpg

week_4_05.jpg

week_4_04.jpg

week_4_03.jpg

week_4_02.jpg

week_4_01.jpg

i have been working on this for a few weeks now so i have made a bit of progress, but there still loads of work to do!

any feedback would be a great help :)

i also have a blog if you want to see some of the earlier development or some of my other work: http://jimimcgowanga.blogspot.co.uk/

Replies

• Arkana
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arkana polycounter lvl 8
    oak-trees.jpg

Even though you're just blocking stuff out I'd like to note that you'd usually never see trees growing at such harsh angles. Because of a thing called gravitropism they will always try to grow and curve upwards.
  • GOBEE
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GOBEE polycounter lvl 10
    Arkana beat me to it. There are a couple trees actually floating too. All your Geo looks like it has soft edges, making things kind of bubbly, fluffy for lack of a better word. It's causing some shading issues. Get those hard edges in the proper places like on the building, wood fence and throw some in the rocks too for more variation. Also, tweak the lighting to be less saturated. Everything is brown. Try a hint of cool blue light source and if you leave your models that gold-brown color, the lighting will be a nice contrast.

Good start. Keep at it.
  • jimimcgowan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message