Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Future student asks for advice

Patrikwindahl
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Patrikwindahl polycounter lvl 9
Hi! I will be applying for a 3D-school here in Sweden that require work samples when applying. At the moment i have 4 pieces that I consider done and that im ready to show. I would like to hear from you what I should improve to maximize the quality of my work. I'm all self taught so I hope to get accepted at this school and to learn to make great game art!

Color, Normal, Specular, Gloss
hMFBjqj.jpg

Color
Odz2Dx2.jpg

none
08sSPUB.jpg

Color
DSJmojd.jpg

:)

Replies

• jtpup0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Everything looks awesome, I don't know if it's necessary to use picture as backdrops... and the only thing that worries me for you is there is no organism present; so I'd suggest making an organism to show you are well rounded.
  • Joost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    I don't know what the admission standards are like, but it looks good enough. I'd just make more stuff to show, what's the deadline?
  • Boozebeard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Boozebeard polycounter lvl 11
    Is it the Game Assembly? I have a friend who went there, seems like a very good school (he went straight into a Ubisoft internship). Looks like a pretty good level to be starting from to me but I could ask what my friend thinks if it is the same school.
  • Patrikwindahl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jtpup0 wrote: »
    Everything looks awesome, I don't know if it's necessary to use picture as backdrops... and the only thing that worries me for you is there is no organism present; so I'd suggest making an organism to show you are well rounded.

Thanks! The images backdrops comes from Toolbag 2. I really liked the presentation by Jeff http://www.environmentartist.com/ so I decided to show my work in the same way :)
  • Patrikwindahl
    Options