Home General Discussion

Environment Art - Share your experiences.

I'm a 3rd year uni student considering options for honors year. I'm dithering between something tech art focused or environment art focused, so I wanted some opinions on what working as an environment artist is like.

What is the availability of jobs like?

How much do you enjoy your job?

Do you get to work with the engine or with programmers?

What is the pay/hours like? (Though a job I enjoy is more important)

What is a typical day like?

How much control do you have over the design of your assets?

Annnnd anything else you might like to add.

Thanks so much guys :)

Replies

• Rurouni Strife
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rurouni Strife polycounter lvl 10
    Hey dude, I can answer some of this for ya!
    1) Good for both. More environment art jobs but A LOT of talent makes it an employers market. Not as many tech art (both general, environment, and character) but with a lot less talent looking for those jobs if you're a decent tech artist you have a better shot.
    2)Loved it
    3)Depends on the studio. SCEA Bend was a lot in the world, rarely with the programmers (unless you count tech art). Turbine was a bit of the engine but not a lot and never with the programmers (unless you count tech art).
    4)Starting out in the states its about $15-$20/hr which is doable in most cities-with some budgeting. Mid level positions usually have a salary in the high $40K to the low $60K range-it depends on where you live (West is higher than NC for example). Tech artists might be able to ask for more since there tend to be less of them.
    5)Very studio specific and I'm short on time, so the short version is that you usually have a lot of time to work on art and chat with your team members. Meetings suck but they are usually needed and it's nice to not stare at your screen every so often. Hours are pretty flexible.