Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modular Character design for UDK

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Anthricus polycounter lvl 5
Hey Guys,

Im currently in my third year at Uni, conducting a study into the optimisation of modular characters for games for my FYP. I will be designing two interchangeable modular armor sets to fit around a male character within UDK.

Current Update:
In UDK:
CompSuit1.jpg
CompSuit2-1.jpg
A few random in engine combinations:
Highres_Screenshot_00032.png
Sculpts:
comp2FYP.png

comp4FYP.pngtestrenderfyp.jpg
Screenshot2014-03-19142851-1.png

Similar Stuff to what i want to make :D
ME3Armourchanges.jpg

Currently I am in the design process and have outlined some of the basic concept process below. The character will be a sci fi esque soldier similar in style to those of Starcraft 2 or Mass effect, although i havent decided whether then will be hand painted or "realistic".

Initial Silhouttes:
soldiersils.jpg

Chosen Sils:
ChosenSils.jpg

Furthered Values:
Chosenvalues.jpg

Final two Chosen:
2chosen.jpg

Values Furthered for chosen two:
Furtheredvalues.jpg

Gun variations in addition to silhoutte:
GunVariations.jpg

My Favoured guns
newgun.jpg
From left to right (No16, No11, No3 + No4, No8 )

Any critique would be great and much appreciated before I take my concepts into the 3d stages.

Replies

• MethodJ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MethodJ polycounter lvl 4
    I think you've done a nice job with silhouette exploration, your designs feel pretty separate and unique from each other. Having done modular characters in UDK before, I would suggest you simplify your designs down to the absolute bare-bones-basics before proceeding to 3D.

I found that building elements that could be reused among different body types to be very helpful. I think with armor you've concepted, I would start by picking a piece that could be reused on every body type and build out from there.
  • Anthricus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message