Home Technical Talk

texturing workflow in Softimage XSI

hi,
i am still learning Softimage XSI and now i can create simple models. But i see that texturing is more complicated.
I couldn't find good and simple tutorials about it.

It will be very nice if someone can tell me about texturing workflow in this program.
I am interested in how to texture creatures like animal, aliens, trolls, etc.

is it necessary to create many sub-projection for each part of body? which type of projection is best for this kind of creature?

Thanks in advance,
Caroline

Replies

• BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    So I don't think this is the best time to be learning Softimage... Autodesk is killing it and is going to stop support soon. With that said Digital Tutors has a bunch of tutorials for Softimage that might be worth looking into. If you want a replacement program to look into Modo and Blender both have texturing features built into their 3D modeling package.
  • cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    Using sub-projections to create your UV islands (along with manually sewing them together) gives you the most control over the UVs, but it's also an older and slower workflow. I still use it for really simple / low poly models, but for organic models with higher polygon counts I go for the built in Unfold3d plugin instead.
    There's also the Unique UVs option which will instantly create UVs with an even density, based on angles. This can make quick work out of more planar models.
  • tinyfrozenland
    BARDLER, thank you for this information, so i will try other 3d program,

cryid, thank you for reply too :)
  • Nox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nox polycounter lvl 5
    For personal stuff just use XSI if it suits you, no point jumping on inferior alternatives. If you want to find a job than learn Maya (Blender/Modo are just a waste of time in this case).