Home Technical Talk

PBR texturing, is it worth it?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
SuperFranky polycounter lvl 10
I'm trying to wrap my mind around all that PBR business, and I have to ask what you all think. I'm a beginner to the texturing, and I really want to know what is the best course of action for me, do I need to learn how to texture with PBR approach or stick with simple diffuse/spec/gloss like most artists use? Of course, I want my work to look the best I can, but what about application in work/freelance etc, will these skills be of use then?

Replies

• AA3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AA3D polycounter lvl 3
    whats the problem in doing both ?
    i didnt get to try PBR yet .. but as iv read the changes are not that much .

the way i see it :
    new tech came out . it may be the future .
    however the old tech is still required and will prolly be for some time .
    so yeah ...

again i didnt try PBR yet or even read deeply on it . so please take my words with a grain of salt .
  • slosh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slosh hero character
    I would def learn PBR...its going to become industry standard soon. Understanding those principles is vital because it is a more realistic interpretation of lighting in next gen engines. That being said, though I understand the tech, I haven't used it on a character yet so I'm in the same boat!
  • lysaara
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lysaara polycounter lvl 9
    For hyper-realistic(aka 'photoreal') artwork PBR seems to be the way to go, and it's not especially difficult to get your head around. This is a good primer on how it works. It's not going to be the solution for every project, but it is certainly popular for realistic art styles.
  • SuperFranky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks, looks like I'll have to try it out for myself.
  • commador
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    commador polycounter lvl 14
    lysaara wrote: »