Home General Discussion

HELP:Getting Started

Hi Guys, I was just wanting to ask for advice. I'm kinda new to this(modeling,animation,just game dev in general) and I seem to have trouble deciding where to start. It's all just very interesting to me and I can't seem to stick with any projects. I have several just small unfinished things because there's just so much to learn and I keep jumping between things.

How do you guys decide where to start? I'm having trouble figuring out which game engine and such to work with. There's just so many engines and softwares that I feel lost :(

here are some links to various small projects I've started.
DE_Datacore
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=211883775
Army Men 3D
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDQP3Y5SM6k&list=UU_0vMafnN_mxQMZiZg0zaOA
Painted Teams in Tf2
http://gamebanana.com/wips/40890

Replies

• NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    It's best to dedicate yourself to only a single project at one time, and picking that project is determined by what kind of area of the industry you'd like to focus on. One thing you should do before starting a project is outlining the list of skills you'd like to improve on or learn upon completion of the project.

In terms of software, it doesn't really matter what you pick because your file outputs are basically going to be the same from all of them. There are plenty of great free tools such as Blender, Unity, etc., if you are a university student then you can likely get access to a free student copy of Autodesk software such as 3DS Max or Maya, and if you aren't doing commercial work then I suppose there wouldn't be anything wrong with taking a less legal approach to obtaining software for the sake of learning how to use it.