Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Reel & Portfolio - feedback please?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
teeth polycounter lvl 7
Hi Polycount, my first real content submission is my reel and portfolio. I just graduated university this past January and most of this is work done in my final semester. I graduated with a BFA but unfortunately my program focused more on traditional mediums. It wasn't a design program so regrettably, I feel like I'm quite behind my peers graduating from programs more geared towards video games and new media. My skills in Photoshop Blender and Zbrush are entirely self-taught. My school only offered class in Maya, and I would say my skills in that are competent at best.

I have a few questions regarding my portfolio/reel, but here it is first:
http://samluo.weebly.com/
(Reel is on the home page.)

First is, I have no idea what a good domain name is. I see a lot of either quirky domains, or just the artist's name. Which is better?

Second, what is expected of students freshly graduating? I've been applying for jobs somewhat casually, and have gotten a few responses saying that my skill doesn't fit their needs or I get no response at all. But I've been applying to internships and 'junior' level positions. Are they only seeking individuals with skill sets from design programs?

Third, knowing all of the above, do I need more education? Am I competitive? What can I do to make myself more attractive to employers?

Lastly, I've no idea what I'm doing as far as composing a portfolio XD What I've put together was at the advisement of my professor, but I'd like the community's heavy input. Please tell me what's good/bad/too little/too much.

Replies

• CarlK3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CarlK3D polycounter lvl 7
    your name is normally best, keep it short, easier to remember and tell people. most portfolios I see just use there name since there portfolio is basically there brand.