Home General Discussion

Hard surface modelling and prototyping at the same time

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
dzibarik polycounter lvl 10
I found that doing hard surface modelling and prototyping at the same time in a standard modelling (not sculpting) app is not doable for me. When I started learning modelling I thought that there will be a time when I'll be able to model without relying on reference images that much. Well, it seems that it's not happening ever. When I model stuff I'm concerned with right edgeflow first and foremost. It's almost purely technical thing and there is no room left for prototyping in my head when I do this.

So it seems that if I want to model sci-fi gun for example I need to make a pretty detailed concept in Photoshop or any sculpting app and only after that start making shapes.

Is it just me not being able to this or some of you prototype and model at the same time?

Replies

• BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    Well two major things I want to touch on here to try to help you out.

"When I started learning modelling I thought that there will be a time when I'll be able to model without relying on reference images that much."
    Never ever under any circumstance do art without reference. You make it sound like using reference is a bad thing, or has some negative connotation to it. Reference will ground your designs and models to the real world and make them look functional and believable. Before I start a new modeling project I gather tons and tons of reference, everything from little material samples, to blueprints, to lighting reference, to color pallets, and everything in-between. Usually by the end of my project my reference folder has 200 plus images in it that I pulled information from.

I got some amazing advice from Paul Pepera a while back on here when I asked him how he makes his sci-fi doors look so damn functional. His portfolio: http://www.peperaart.com/