Home General Discussion

As a programmer, how do I sell myself to an artist?

paco
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
paco polycounter lvl 3
I'm aware there are no coders here, however...

I'm a programmer who is looking to put a team together to make a game, and I'm wondering what the best way to sell the project to an artist is? If I was an artist I could put together an awesome showreel or portfolio which conveys almost instantly the quality of the work I can do.

As a programmer however, a lot of the things I do are behind the scenes. I could show you some really sexy code... but somehow I doubt you'd care.

Does anyone have any ideas? If you were joining a programmer on a collaborative project, what would you want / not want to see??

So far I've put together a demo of the game mechanic that I'd like to make a full version of. I'm planning to release it for free. A video of the gameplay is below (skip to 2:40 get past the intro). The level may look familiar - it's the Sci-Fi lab by Tor Frick (used with his permission).

It's currently in beta - msg me if you want to give it a go! (Windows XP ,7, 8 @ 130mb)

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvyDrDrlJHY"]3D text-adventure latest gameplay video - YouTube[/ame]
https://vimeo.com/88543875

Replies

• NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    Depends on a few things, from the artist's perspective it will likely feel like applying to any other job, so you should look at what an employer does to hire artists.