Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Worn Fire Extinguisher

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Misciagno3d polycounter lvl 4
This is my first time rendering a model in Marmoset Toolbag 2. I'm pretty happy with it but I want to know what you guys think. Ploys: 5,001 Verts: 5,325 Texture Size: 2048 X 2048

FHD3CSm.jpg

szYqMNn.jpg

viSzTVu.jpg

P0gcOZN.jpg

3zby1k2.jpg

RbVnRTI.jpg

Replies

• BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    Your metal doesn't look to convincing. Can you post your texture flats?
  • SaboR1996
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SaboR1996 polycounter lvl 8
    Also, the paint being worn off looks like its really thick paint. and it looks odd, not sure if this is normals or just painted but it looks way to thick to be a painted extinguisher
  • Misciagno3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What part about it do you think isn't realistic and do you mean the painted area or the bare area or both? Do you think its a texture issue or maybe i was too extreme with the render effects?

The order is diffuse normal spec then gloss

1dA72sW.jpg

HffUcgN.png

GZg99gf.jpg

Q8Wl8sL.jpg
  • Misciagno3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i could fix the thickness of the paint with the bump map for sure thanks for pointing that out

WWIzjHn.jpg

nqshTuu.jpg
  • commador
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    commador polycounter lvl 14
    Since you are using toolbag 2, why not give a metalness workflow a try? You can focus on your albedo and gloss map then to give you material definition. It may be a little confusing at first, but when you finish, it will seem pretty straightforward. Great guide here. Physically based rendering, and you can too!
  • Misciagno3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message