Home General Discussion

Gnomon vs Self-taught

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
ripper351 polycounter lvl 5
I have read a lot of forums debating whether people should go to art school or not and whether it would be time well spent to go to an arts school. I hear a lot of people saying that older students should just be self taught since some schools don't teach you very much. My problem is that all these threads are directed towards older students around 20. So what I am asking is that as a high school student, myself, what do you think about attending Gnomon for the three year program in 3d modeling and texturing for college. Is this school as good as it seems? :poly121:

Replies

• maximumsproductions
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    maximumsproductions polycounter lvl 8
    You can be self taught right now? It's reputation holds up but so does the $100,000.
  • ripper351
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You can be self taught right now?.

Not sure what you mean by that.
  • NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    ripper351 wrote: »
    Not sure what you mean by that.
    There's no magical difference between self-teaching when you're 20 and when you're in highschool. He was saying that you can start self-teaching yourself now.

The discussion can basically boil down to the questions of "Are you self-motivated?" and "How much money do you have?"

If you want to work in the games industry, or even as a 3D artist, then the ability to be motivated by your work is a VERY important skill to have because this isn't going to be an easy job to hold.

A school isn't going to magically make you better at something, in the end, the school is just going to try and kick your ass into getting a stable work schedule so you can work hard yourself. Schools do this in different ways and I'm sure in this case, it's the price tag.