Home General Discussion

Questions for a 3D modeller

Hi I have a few questions id like to ask to a 3D modeller preferably somone that works in the industry. Its part of an assignment i'm currently doing where I have to research this field. Thank you for your time :)
  1. How did you break into the industry?
  2. Was your initial knowledge of 3D modelling self-taught or did you learn it from a course beforehand?
  3. When did you first become interested in doing this as a career?
  4. Is the industry tough to work in? i.e. high pressure/ workload/deadlines
  5. What advice would you give to a graduate student aspiring to make it as a 3D artist/modeller?
  6. What is the best way increase the speed of your modelling?
  7. Did the company you worked for give you any training in the software packages?
  8. Would you recommend this as a career path?

Replies

• glottis8
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    glottis8 polycounter lvl 9
    How did you break into the industry?
    Before graduating i had an internship at Cartoon Network, soon after graduation i started work on production of movie 3d art and vfx in LA. Soon after there was that writers strike that left very little work in the movies at the time, leaving me hanging and looking for new work. Decided to move into full time position within video games. Did some freelance and then landed my first job soon after.

Tho.. my first job was all network. Buddy of mine working there referred me, sent my portfolio, interviewed and started that same day.

Was your initial knowledge of 3D modelling self-taught or did you learn it from a course beforehand?
    A little bit of both i think. I think of college more of what you put into it. I think i got out more than some of the other people attending just by the amount of dedication and practice. So you learn form a course, sure, but its what you put into it that brings the best results.

When did you first become interested in doing this as a career?