Home Technical Talk

Resurfacing lumpiness in Zbrush

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
kritskiy polycounter lvl 10
Hi everyone! I'm not very experienced in Zbrush, can you please advise me on dealing with lumpy surfaces of dense meshes?

Here's an example: this beautiful sphere. The right side is perfectly smooth, there's a splendidly sculpted spiral and so on. The left side is a result of brush/smooth/trim brushes and is lumpy. What I want to understand are the ways to make left part smooth without disturbing the right part.

ZBrushOSX-20140227-180619.png

The two things I had in mind are
1) making lower res mesh with ZRemesher and then ProjectAll the lumpy part of the original mesh to the newer smoother geometry. The problem was that I was getting holes and seams
ZBrushOSX-20140227-184253.png

2) Polygroup + topology brush. I guess I'm not understanding something because the surface is quite smooth but the transition between polygroups is broken
ZBrushOSX-20140227-184830.png

Thanks!

Replies

• MeintevdS
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MeintevdS keyframe
    I think the trick is to step down in subdivision levels and fix your lumpiness in a lower poly level.

High detail = high poly
    Low detail = low poly

And in case of lumps they are big forms, so lowpoly would be the solution I'd say.
  • D4V1DC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    D4V1DC polycounter lvl 18
    Complicated.

Did you mask the right side off from the left and made edits?

There are to many questions left unanswered for us to really help with this, tbh.

I found out that a few options or combinations will create problems on meshes, idk if anyone else has had this problem but i was actually paying attention today and noticed a few.

If you decide to re-create this which should be quick enough, try to write down each step, like:

1. create a sphere made it unified skin or whatever.
    2. damn brushed a spiral on right side
    ect.ect.