Home General Discussion

Survey: 3D-design user interfaces

Hello everyone!

My name is Max, and I'm a student at Interactive Media Design Laboratory, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan (http://imd.naist.jp).
I'm researching future user interfaces for 3D design and animation.

Sadly, researchers in my field hardly know anything about how 3D artists actually work.
I hope to change that, and make future R&D more oriented towards your real-world needs.

Therefore I started a survey, and would like to ask you to participate:
http://survey.makx.org

Your help is very much appreciated!

I know you hate SPAM, but this is highly related to your work
(and my work, since I used to work in the industry and hope to return there some day).
This is an academic research effort and not exploited commercially.
I hope to publish the results at an international conference
and thus help to make better user interfaces in the future.

IMPORTANT NOTE:
The research relates to the professional use of 3D software,
so it will ask you whether you work in "media production".
This of course includes freelancers and independent artists, but not mere hobbyists.
I'm very sorry, but the requirements are just too different.

Thank you very much for your understanding.

Replies

• Jonas Ronnegard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jonas Ronnegard polycount sponsor
    Cool I used to live in Nara, will fill out the survey after work
  • max-k
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Really? Cool! How did you like it?
    To be honest: I'd prefer to live in Osaka, because it can be a bit boring here.
    But the University is good and it's not too far to go Osaka anyway...

Thank you very much!
  • iconoplast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    iconoplast polycounter lvl 13
    I've taken your survey. I also made a suggestion about thermoelectric cooling in my comments. If that's of interest, you can see one here: sparkfun.com/products/10080