Home Technical Talk

First steps into MxScript

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
MattyWS polycounter lvl 11
Hello all! I've been keeping busy trying to learn MEL script but since most of my office use Max, I started doing a bit of Maxscript too. I'm completely self taught at this point and I'm having a little issue. I'm sure it's something simple but I haven't been able to solve this. I have a button with the function as follows;
on ButtonSmooth pressed do
	(
			ViewPortVal = SIterations.value
			RenderVal = RIterations.value

modPanel.addModToSelection (TurboSmooth ()) ui:on
			$.modifiers[#TurboSmooth].iterations = ViewPortVal
			$.modifiers[#TurboSmooth].useRenderIterations = on
			$.modifiers[#TurboSmooth].renderIterations = RenderVal

)

As I'm sure you can guess, it simply turbosmooth's the object. And it works fine on one object, however I want to be able to use this on multiple objects at a time but it throws an error at me when I try it. Can anyone see why it wouldn't work on a selection of objects?

Any help is much appreciated! =)

Thanks,
Matty

Replies

• 2cat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    2cat polycounter lvl 5
    I'm no expert, but if I remember correctly $ is the current selected object. I don't think it can be multiple, and if it can, I don't think you can apply 1 modifier to multiple objects. Probably you have to cycle through all selected objects and add the modifier per object. Maybe something like (not max syntax I'm sure)

foreach(object in selection)
    {
    do stuff
    }
  • leslievdb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    leslievdb polycounter lvl 15
    this is because if you have multiple object selected you`ll be working with an array instead of just one object.
    what you`ll need to do is go over each element and run that same bit of code

so for example
    (     

for obj in selection do
        (