Home Technical Talk

Advice Please - Blocking out a large urban scene

triangle
Offline / Send Message
JustColorado triangle
I have never done a proper blockout before. I am working on a level now for UDK. It is a fairly large urban scene. I ultimately want to create a few modular sets and snap them together to follow my blockout.

The game will take place in this specific part of Brooklyn. I probably won't stick exactly to the real world map, but I would like to stay as close as I can. I have a few blocks here from google maps as a guide.

Streets_Outline.jpg

Here is the approximate playable area:

playable_area.jpg

So far all I have done is figure out that a 49,152 units grid for the whole map will be very close to real world scale. I have a ~25,000 unit playable area. I timed it at 1 minute 20 seconds to walk from one side of the level to the other. Not sure if that is too long, I imagine it would take longer while fighting off hordes of enemies.

Many of the shapes for the buildings are trapezoidal, I cut some shapes out along the photo in Max, but now I am not sure that was the best move. Should I use Max or BSP brushes?

How will I make sure everything snaps, when my streets are running at all kinds of wierd angles and so are the buildings?

What would your workflow be to block out this level?

Replies

• JustColorado
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JustColorado triangle
    Bumping my plea for advice with a little update. (Any input greatly appreciated)

I moved ahead a little and decided to lose all diagonal streets, and get all of the streets I am keeping aligned at 90 degree angles. This greatly simplifies my map. I also noticed that my original plan called for 28 playable city blocks. That sounds like a massive amount of work. In my latest revision I only have 11 playable blocks.

OK so now I think I have my scale issue, and my snapping issue solved. And I am going to use max instead of BSP. It is just easier for me to work with.