Home Technical Talk

Mudbox UVs and 3ds Max

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
acealmighty13 polycounter lvl 10
Is it possible to make changes to my UVs in 3ds Max and apply them to that same model in Mudbox after I've already made alterations to it on the original set? I've realized I have messed up and it's an easy fix but I don't know how to handle the situation. I'm still learning how to use Mudbox. Any help, if it's possible would be great.

Replies

• reedweinstock
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    reedweinstock polycounter lvl 8
    I think you can use "send to 3ds max" and then use "send to mudbox"
  • acealmighty13
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    My version of Mudbox is 2011 and sending to Max isn't an option. It does say under the file menu, "import UV..."

I'd like to think that would be an option to do so. The more I think about it, the logical part of my brain tells me it would be possible. It sounds like a waste of time if I fucked something up like that, just due to human error that I'd have to start over.
  • MM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MM polycounter lvl 18
    export level0 of you mesh (one object at a time) to max. make sure to disable multiple object export/import option if any so that vertex order doesnt change. redo your UVs without changing any topology. then export that back to mudbox and use "import UV". then recreate level UVs in mudbox. it should work out fine.
  • acealmighty13
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I just have to mess with the UVs in the UV editor. There's an area where I use a stencil, it appears smeared. Yet on the ends it appears crystal clear. Am I saving the UVs and using that file to import the UVs into Mudbox or taking the OBJ file or FBX file and importing that as the UVs?
  • acealmighty13
    Options
    Offline / Send Message