Home Technical Talk

Simple box normal mapping

null
Offline / Send Message
maxwood null
Hi all,

I've had a look through the forum but can't seem to find a solution to what I'm looking for, apologies I'm kind of new to this.

I've got a simple unwrapped box I've exported as my low poly object and then a higher poly box in the same position scaled up to cover the low poly version but with chamfered edges.

I've imported them both into xNormal using "add meshes" and otherwise default settings.

I've then imported the low poly mesh into Marmoset (v2 trial version if that makes any difference?) but it's still showing hard edges. I've attached a screenshot from Marmoset and my normal map.

Any ideas? Is this how it should look?!

ekSLBWC.jpg
Sfsf5n6.jpg

I appreciate the help.

Thanks,

Max

Replies

• Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    If you select your mesh object, on the left toolbar under "Mesh" there is a Tangent Space setting. Switch that to whatever you used to bake your normals.
  • maxwood
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    maxwood null
    Bartalon wrote: »
    If you select your mesh object, on the left toolbar under "Mesh" there is a Tangent Space setting. Switch that to whatever you used to bake your normals.

Thanks for the quick reply :)

I tried this last night when playing around with the settings but it didn't make any difference. I'll try again when I'm home but was the rest of my process correct?
  • Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    Yeah the rest of your process seems fine. You didn't mention using a cage but the object is simple enough to probably not need one. The only other thing I can think of would be your HP had a hard edge which would bake into the normal map or your smoothing groups somehow got jacked up on your LP. Are your UV islands assigned to their own smoothing groups?
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message