Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Water Well . Prop Practice

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
dvisionvoid polycounter lvl 6
Hey guys, i'm pretty new to the game world, and i want to practice my low poly modeling and texturing skills. I chose this picture to practice and i'd love you to critique my model, specially the mesh and shapes :)

twgLZXl.jpg

And this is what i've done till now

zmpnMcE.png

I'll update later, thank you!

Replies

• KazeoHin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KazeoHin polycounter lvl 8
    So far, so good! The vertical logs in the reference kind of seem to be bowing under the weight of the heavy roof, where as yours seem kind of complacent.
  • dvisionvoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nice appreciation KazeoHin! I will check that
  • dvisionvoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • Suba
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Suba polycounter lvl 5
    This is nice. Waiting for more updates !
  • Rafferty_Eggleston
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rafferty_Eggleston polycounter lvl 9
    Looking good so far! I think the top of your well (the stone part) is too flat. In the reference pic, it looks like it is bowed and at an off angle instead of parallel to the ground.
  • dvisionvoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Suba Thanks man!
    @Rafferty It's true! Im going to fix that now
  • Marshkin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Marshkin polycounter lvl 9
    That's a great start! I'm really looking forward to seeing what you do with the textures!
  • dvisionvoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Marshkin im really afraid of texturing haha, but i will try to learn as much as i can with this
  • dvisionvoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I've done the UVs but im having trouble with the rope :( I'm using c4d, anyone has any advice?

O8XvlT5.jpg
  • oshima
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oshima polycounter lvl 8